GroupID 8.x - Automate
You have mistakenly deleted some of your distribution lists. How can you restore them back? And what is Recycle Bin?
The Recycle Bin in GroupID displays logically and physically deleted groups. It is a GUI for tombstone objects in Active Directory.
GroupID handles group deletion as either physical or logical.
- Logical deletion
Groups that are deleted by the Group Life Cycle job are considered to be logically deleted. The job deletes expired groups automatically based on the deletion policy specified in Group Lifecycle settings for an identity store.
Upon deletion, logically deleted groups are moved to the Recycle Bin node, with all their attributes intact. As a result, a logically deleted group, when restored, returns to the state it had at the time of deletion.
- Physical deletion
Physical group deletion refers to manually deleting groups using the Delete command on the Actions menu or shortcut menu. GroupID moves a physically deleted group to the Recycle Bin node while stripping it of most of its properties. You cannot delete a group from the Recycle Bin; however, you can restore it.
When restored, a physically deleted group is restored as a simple group; its membership is not restored.
To help differentiate logically deleted groups from physically deleted ones in the Recycle Bin, check the Type column. Physically deleted groups have Tombstone as type while logically deleted groups have Logically deleted Group as their type. Both types are locked for further operations until restored.
Restore a deleted group:
If you have deleted a group mistakenly and it is still needed, you can restore it from the Recycle Bin (provided that you have the required permissions on the directory server to restore tombstone objects). By default, administrators have these permissions.
To restore a group, do the following:
- In GroupID Management Console, select Automate > Recycle Bin.
- In the Groups list, locate the group you want to restore.
- Right-click the group and click Restore on the shortcut menu.
- Click OK.
|Note:||If the organizational unit that contained the group has been deleted, restoring the group will recreate the organizational unit as well.|
- GroupID Online Help topic: Deleting groups
- GroupID Online Help topic: Recycle Bin
- Know your Tombstones - The Basics